Every year in the United States more than two thousand teens are being killed while…
On behalf of The Law Offices of Howard Craig Kornberg posted in Car accidents
Your whole life sudden flashes before your eyes. It happens at random out of nowhere. It’s nothing you can really prepare for. Getting into a Car Wreck is one scary experience. It’s even worse when you’re injured in the process and it was the other driver’s fault. It’s incredibly unfair. Many people have gone through what you’re going through. Car accidents are far too common. However, this doesn’t make your experience any less tragic. It’s essential to know how to report the accident as well as some ways to prove the other driver was at fault for the accident.
You only have to report an accident if there are significant damage and or injuries occurring due to the accident. If anyone who is involved in the accident is injured or dies, then you must submit a written report within 24 hours to the California Highway Patrol. You must report the accident to the DMV if there is any type of injury (even if it is minor) or there is a vehicle or property damage in excess of $750. This includes if someone got a minor sprain or cut. Property damage means is the damage to fixed property including buildings. An example of this would be if an office building was hit during the accident. In the state of California, this must be done within 10 days.
One piece of evidence that would help prove the other driver was at-fault would be the police report of the accident. When police are called to the scene of the accident, they have a written report with all the details of the accident. In the report, they may mention things that could put the other driver at fault. The report may contain negligent behavior reported by the officer or their opinion if someone violated a specific traffic law. Ask the traffic division of your local law enforcement agency for this information as it can be extremely helpful in proving the other driver was at-fault.
Another piece of evidence that would help prove the other driver was at fault for the accident is by looking at state traffic laws. For this information, you’ll need to look at California’s rules of the road in their statutes, otherwise none as “Vehicle Code”. Make sure you get the exact wording and also get the statute number. Look for listings specific to the accident. For example, if the other driver hit you by failing to yield, then you could look that up under “Vehicle Code”. This information can be found at the DMV office or at most public libraries.
Some people are not safe or defensive drivers. They drive recklessly or negligently, causing the accident to happen. They owed you a duty to be cautious on the road and they have failed to do that. When you get into a car accident it scares you. It’s unfair. It was the other driver’s fault. You did everything you could to avoid the accident. You want someone who is not only an expert in car accidents but is used to dealing with these and your unique cases. The Law Offices of Howard Craig Kornberg will fight for you and help to ease the burden. Schedule a free consultation today using this contact form or call us at 310-997-0904 for a free initial consultation.